I’ve been trying to get more dark leafy greens into my four-year-old and can only get him to drink so many “Hulk Smash” smoothies! My mom recently sent me this recipe, and I finally decided to make it: http://bit.ly/13BsIa9. I wish I had made it sooner – it was super easy to make and my son loved it! It packs three cups of kale into a 9-inch cake. According to my calculations, that’s about a third of a cup per slice – more than the three bites my dear husband and I manage to convince him to eat at dinner time. Even if it wasn’t, this is a great way to add some extra kale to his diet.

Here comes the recipe…
Ingredients
6 tablespoons Flax Seed
3/4 cups Warm Water
1 bunch Kale (washed, stalks removed and chopped)
1 cup Applesauce
1 1/2 cup Sugar
2 1/3 cups Flour (I use my favorite gluten-free version)
1 teaspoon Baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
2 teaspoons Cinnamon
1 teaspoon Nutmeg
1 teaspoon Ginger (fresh, grated or ground)
1/2 teaspoon Salt
Powdered Sugar (to garnish)
Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9-inch spring-form pan. In a small bowl, stir together flaxseeds and water; set aside.
Place kale, applesauce, and sugar in a food processor and blend until smooth. In a large bowl, combine flax mixture, kale mixture, and remaining ingredients except powdered sugar until smooth. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 40 to 45 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a rack. Dust with powdered sugar to serve.

Note: I omitted the ginger to make it kid-friendly; I also used sucanat instead of sugar and freshly ground soft white wheat, still with great results; I used 365 organic powdered sugar to make sure our cake stayed vegan (many a sugar out there is whitened using bone char!).